Conférences Centre de Recherche Cerveau & Cognition - UMR5549

Partenaires

CNRS
Université Paul Sabatier



Search

On this website

On the whole CNRS Web



Recent news All news

29 June 2017

From the natural intelligence to the artificial intelligence

A CerCO technology transfered to an international society

Toulouse Tech Transfer (TTT) has just signed of a licensing agreement to transfer technology “JAST”, resulting from the Research centre Brain & Cognition (CerCo – CNRS/Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier), near the BrainChip company. After 30 years of research, this new generation of artificial intelligence (IA), which takes as a starting point the human intelligence, opens the door with new inaccessible applications until now. A promising Toulouse innovation Able to identify events repeating itself within a mass of data, without any preliminary training and with the possibility of implementing it on electronic circuit, technology JAST is the result many years of researches undertaken by Simon Thorpe, enquiring CNRS and director of CerCo. This Toulouse innovation allured the BrainChip company which develops software solutions and material dedicated to the IA for markets such as the civil monitoring or the video games. Thanks to this technological rupture, BrainChip will be able to optimize its microprocessor SNAP (Spiking Neuron Adaptive Processor) which analyzes in real time of the video stream. 30 years of searchs and always of the prospects for evolution to arrive at these results, all started in 1988 when Simon Thorpe, begins his research tasks on the networks from digital neurons. Convinced that an implementation hardware of the neurons is possible, it manufactures in 1994, with the assistance of a student, a chip including 256 neurons which never left the laboratory. “I had difficulty convincing the engineers who biology could be a source of inspiration. I said myself that I was going to do it myself! ” the scientist remembers. The things accelerate in 1998 thanks to the theses of Rufin VanRullen and Arnaud Delorme, today both research directors at CNRS in CerCo. “Their work made me understand the commercial potential of the digital networks of neurons. Thanks to the law on the innovation and research, we were among the first to invest the market by creating the company SpikeNet Technology supported by CNRS” tells Simon Thorpe. Since, the doctorant.e.s and étudiant.e.s working around Simon Thorpe contributed to this new generation of networks of digital neurons able to learn like a human brain and which allowed the development of technology. “Thanks to the ideas developed by our team, we could aim at the system development able soon to simulate million, to see billion neurons… ”, the scientist imagines. The signature of an exclusive licence near the BrainChip company, operated by the teams of Toulouse Tech Transfer, illustrates the quality of the researches undertaken in the field of the artificial intelligence in particular within the Toulouse laboratories. A press release is online on the site of CNRS in Midi-Pyrenees.

31 May 2017

« What do cochlear implants really do ? »

For nearly 40 years, deaf patients can benefit from a cochlear implantation in order to restore their oral communication skills. These cochlear implants are electronic hearing aids consisting mainly of a bundle of electrodes placed in the inner ear which will restore the external sound signal to the auditory nerve in the form of electrical pulses. Work on the improvement of sound coding strategies is at the heart of research in the field in order to provide patients with the most accurate and suitable electrical signal possible. In the case of deep bilateral deafness, the literature attests to an optimal recovery of speech understanding performance in quiet environments and a significant improvement in the quality of life of these patients. However, the quality of the sound transmitted and its perception by the patient via the implant remains largely unknown. What do these "deaf-hearing" people hear through this neuroprosthesis? Acoustic simulations were developed by O.Macherey (Laboratory of Mechanics and Acoustics, CNRS, Marseille) and t Chadlia Karoui (PhD Student, CerCo, Cifre contract, Cochlear) as part of a study on the rehabilitation of unilateral deafness by cochlear implantation under the direction of Pr. Mathieu Marx (équipe C3P et CHU Purpan). The results being validated in unilateral deaf patients with cochlear implants in the ORL-CHU service of Toulouse-Purpan have defined the simulations which are closed to the sound transmitted via the implant than the usual simulations. These results represent another step in the understanding of the world of deaf patients with cochlear implants who, thanks to the neuroprosthesis, find oral communication and the accompanying social life.

A documentary on FranceCulture presents testimonies of young patients implanted as well as sounds synthesized from these new acoustic simulations.

[https://www.franceculture.fr/emissi...>

12 May 2017

Nouvelle traduction : When memories come back through electrical brain stimulation……

«When memories come back through electrical brain stimulation…» … they become an amazing tool of long term memory. Electrical brain stimulations (EBS) sometimes induce reminiscences, but it is largely unknown what type of memories they can trigger. We reviewed 80 years of literature on reminiscences induced by EBS and added our own database. We classified them according to modern conceptions of memory. We observed a surprisingly large variety of reminiscences covering all aspects of declarative memory. However, most were poorly detailed and only a few were episodic. This result does not support theories of a highly stable and detailed memory, as initially postulated, and still widely believed as true by the general public. Moreover, memory networks could only be activated by some of their nodes: 94.1% of EBS were temporal, although the parietal and frontal lobes, also involved in memory networks, were stimulated. The qualitative nature of memories largely depended on the site of stimulation: EBS to rhinal cortex mostly induced personal semantic reminiscences, while only hippocampal EBS induced episodic memories. This result supports the view that EBS can activate memory in predictable ways in humans. Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews; 2017

23 January 2017

What are the brain regions that process visual information when we walk within our environment?

What are the brain regions that process visual information when we walk within our environment? Are they identical in human and non-human primates, species that are very close by on the evolutionary tree? In order to answer these questions, researchers from the ECO-3D team used a neuroimaging technique based on fMRI recordings at high field (3T) in awake behaving macaque. This state-of-art approach was developed in parallel in human and monkey over the last 5 years within the MRI platform of the ‘Institut des Sciences du Cerveau de Toulouse’ on the site of the Purpan hospital. This platform is one of the first in France that was specifically designed for studies in both human and macaque. Numerous tests were necessary for the establishment of fMRI sequences, the development of specific coils but also for the processing of the data and the conditioning of the animals. The results, published in Cerebral Cortex, revealed that despite some differences, the cortical networks activated during locomotion in macaques are very close to those obtained in humans using the same experimental approach. They allow a better understanding of the homologies between the two species and open new perspectives on our current knowledge of brain function evolution in primate.

19 July 2016

Cécile JUAN : Prix du Poster au Forum international de la recherche en multi sensorialité

Cécile JUAN, is honored by the prize of the outstanding Award Certificate of the organizing comitte of the 17th international multisensory research forum for her work on Auditory-visual integration in the posterior cingulate cortex of the macaque monkeys. Son poster a été présenté au 17ème Forum international sur la recherche en multisensorialité (IMRF) qui s’est déroulé à Suzhou en chine du 15 au 18 juin 2016. This study shows first neuronal evidence of the visuo-auditory integration in the PCC of awake monkeys. These stimuli could be treated later as spatial markers to avoid or direct to when the animal explores its environment.


To be noted

Semaine du Cerveau 2017

La semaine du Cerveau 2017 se déroulera du 13 au 18 mars. Programme

Conférences et séminaires

Conférence CerCo
Daniel Pressnitzer
Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs, Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris)
vendredi 22 septembre 2017 11h00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
Noisy and ambiguous stimuli to probe adaptive processes in audition

Séminaire
Julien Dubois
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center // Caltech
lundi 25 septembre 2017 11h00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
Non-invasive and invasive recordings of the brains of humans during naturalistic stimulation

Conférence CerCo
Leila Reddy
CerCo
mardi 26 septembre 2017 14
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
HDR defense

Conférence CerCo
Chris Baker
NIH
mercredi 27 septembre 2017 11
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
Making Sense of Real-World Scenes

Conférence CerCo
Timothée Masquelier

lundi 02 octobre 2017 14:00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
HDR - Spike-based computing and learning in brains, machines, and visual systems in particular

Conférence CerCo
Romain Brette
Institut de la Vision
mardi 03 octobre 2017 11:00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
Cognition with a one-neuron brain

Conférence CerCo
Srdjan Ostojic
ENS Paris
vendredi 06 octobre 2017 11h
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
title tbd

Conférence CerCo
Charlie Wilson
Stem Cell and Brain Research Institute INSERM U1208
jeudi 19 octobre 2017 11 h
RDC du PPR, centre d\'enseignement et de Congrés, , Hôpital Purpan
The neural basis of adaptive cognitive control :
beta oscillations, feedback and dopamine

InCOGnu

L’association InCOGnu organise régulièrement des soirées débats et ateliers autour des Sciences Cognitives. More...

Conférences Centre de Recherche Cerveau & Cognition - UMR5549

Partenaires

CNRS
Université Paul Sabatier



Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS



Actualités Toutes les actualités

29 juin 2017

De l’intelligence naturelle à l’intelligence artificielle

une technologie issue du CerCO transférée à une société internationale

Toulouse Tech Transfer (TTT) vient de procéder à la signature d’un accord de licence pour transférer la technologie « JAST », issue du Centre de Recherche Cerveau & Cognition (CerCo – CNRS/Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier), auprès de la société BrainChip. Après 30 ans de recherches, cette nouvelle génération d’intelligence artificielle (IA), qui s’inspire de l’intelligence humaine, ouvre la porte à de nouvelles applications inaccessibles jusqu’à présent. Une innovation toulousaine prometteuse Capable d’identifier des événements se répétant au sein d’une masse de données, sans aucun apprentissage préalable et avec la possibilité de l’implémenter sur circuit électronique, la technologie JAST est l’aboutissement de nombreuses années de recherches menées par Simon Thorpe, chercheur CNRS et directeur du CerCo. Cette innovation toulousaine a séduit la société BrainChip qui développe des solutions logicielles et matérielles dédiées à l’IA pour des marchés tels que la surveillance civile ou les jeux vidéo. Grâce à cette rupture technologique, BrainChip va pouvoir optimiser son microprocesseur SNAP (Spiking Neuron Adaptive Processor) qui analyse en temps réel des flux vidéo. 30 ans de recherches et toujours des perspectives d’évolution Pour arriver à ces résultats, tout a commencé en 1988 lorsque Simon Thorpe, débute ses travaux de recherche sur les réseaux de neurones numériques. Convaincu qu’une implémentation hardware des neurones est possible, il fabrique en 1994, avec l’aide d’un étudiant, une puce comprenant 256 neurones qui n’est jamais sortie du laboratoire. « J’avais du mal à convaincre les ingénieurs que la biologie pouvait être une source d’inspiration. Je me suis dit que j’allais le faire moi-même ! » se souvient le scientifique. Les choses s’accélèrent en 1998 grâce aux thèses de Rufin VanRullen et Arnaud Delorme, aujourd’hui tous deux directeurs de recherche au CNRS au CerCo. « Leurs travaux m’ont fait comprendre le potentiel commercial des réseaux de neurones numériques. Grâce à la loi sur l’innovation et la recherche, nous étions parmi les premiers à investir le marché en créant la société SpikeNet Technology soutenue par le CNRS » raconte Simon Thorpe. Depuis, les doctorant.e.s et étudiant.e.s travaillant autour de Simon Thorpe ont contribué à cette nouvelle génération de réseaux de neurones numériques capables d’apprendre comme un cerveau humain et qui a permis le développement de la technologie. « Grâce aux idées développées par notre équipe, nous pourrions prochainement viser le développement de systèmes capables de simuler des millions, voir des milliards de neurones… », imagine le scientifique. La signature d’une licence exclusive auprès de la société BrainChip, opérée par les équipes de Toulouse Tech Transfer, illustre la qualité des recherches menées dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle notamment au sein des laboratoires toulousains. Un communiqué de presse est en ligne sur le site du cnrs en Midi-Pyrénées.

31 mai 2017

« Qu’entend réellement un implanté cochléaire ? »

Depuis près de 40 ans, les patients sourds profonds peuvent bénéficier d’une implantation cochléaire afin de restaurer leurs capacités de communication orale. Ces implants cochléaires sont des prothèses auditives électroniques constituées principalement d’un faisceau d’électrodes placé dans l’oreille interne qui va restituer le signal sonore extérieur au nerf auditif sous forme d’impulsions électriques. Les travaux portant sur l’amélioration des stratégies de codage du son sont au cœur de la recherche dans le domaine, afin d’apporter aux patients le signal électrique le plus fidèle et le plus adapté possible.. Dans le cas de surdités profondes bilatérales, la littérature atteste d’une récupération optimale des performances de compréhension de la parole dans les environnements calmes et d’une amélioration significative de la qualité de vie de ces patients. Cependant, la qualité du son transmis et sa perception par le patient via l’implant reste peu connue. Qu’entendent ces personnes « sourdes-entendantes » au travers de cette neuroprothèse ? Des simulations acoustiques ont été développées par O.Macherey (Laboratoire de Mécanique et d’Acoustique, CNRS, Marseille) et Chadlia Karoui (Doctorante, CerCo, contrat Cifre Cochlear) dans le cadre d’une étude sur la réhabilitation des surdités unilatérales par implantation cochléaire sous la direction du Pr. Mathieu Marx (équipe C3P et CHU Purpan). Les résultats en cours de validation chez les patients sourds profonds unilatéraux implantés cochléaires du Service ORL- CHU de Toulouse- Purpan ont permis de définir chez ces patients les simulations qui seraient plus ressemblantes au son transmis via l’implant que les simulations habituelles. Ces résultats constituent un pas de plus dans la compréhension du monde des patients sourds implantés cochléaires qui retrouvent grâce à la neuroprothèse une communication orale et la vie sociale qui l’accompagne.

Un documentaire sur FranceCulture présente des témoignages de jeunes patients implantés ainsi que des sons synthétisés à partir de ces nouvelles simulations acoustiques.

https://www.franceculture.fr/emissions/une-histoire-particuliere-un-recit-documentaire-en-deux-parties/jeune-sourde-et-entendante

12 mai 2017

Quand les souvenirs refont surface grâce à la stimulation électrique cérébrale…

« Quand » les souvenirs refont surface grâce à la stimulation électrique « cérébrale… » …ils deviennent alors un outil précieux d’étude de la mémoire à long terme. Les stimulations électriques cérébrales chez certains patients épileptiques peuvent aboutir à la résurgence inattendue de souvenirs. Mais ces souvenirs induits sont rares et n’ont été que très peu étudiée. Nous avons donc analysé le contenu, la localisation et les paramètres de stimulation de tous les souvenirs induits publiés depuis 80 ans, pour cerner les « clés » permettant d’accéder aux réseaux de notre mémoire. Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews ; 2017

Cette actualité a été relayée sur le site web de l’INSB et le compte twitter de l’institut.

23 janvier 2017

Quelles sont les régions du cerveau qui traitent les informations visuelles lors de nos déplacements ?

Quelles sont les régions du cerveau qui traitent les informations visuelles lors de nos déplacements ? Sont-elles identiques chez le primate humain et le primate non-humain, espèces voisines dans l’échelle de l’évolution ? Pour le savoir, des chercheurs de l’équipe ECO-3D ont utilisé une technique de neuroimagerie non-invasive basée sur des enregistrements en IRM fonctionnel à haut champ (3 Teslas) chez le macaque Rhésus en condition vigile. Cette technique novatrice a été développée en parallèle chez l’homme et le singe au cours des 5 dernières années au sein de la plateforme IRM de l’Institut des Sciences du Cerveau de Toulouse sur le site de l’hôpital Purpan. Cette plateforme est l’une des premières en France à avoir été conçue pour des études à la fois chez l’homme et le singe. De nombreuses mises au point ont été nécessaires en terme de séquences IRM, d’acquisition d’antennes spécifiques, mais aussi de traitement des données et de conditionnement des animaux. Les résultats, publiés dans la revue Cerebral Cortex, ont révélé que malgré certaines différences, les réseaux corticaux impliqués dans le traitement de la locomotion chez le singe sont très proches de ceux obtenus chez l’homme à partir de la même approche. Ils permettent ainsi de mieux comprendre les homologies entre les deux espèces et ouvrent des perspectives sur une meilleure connaissance de l’évolution des fonctions cérébrales chez le primate.

19 juillet 2016

Cécile JUAN : Prix du Poster au Forum international de la recherche en multi sensorialité

Cécile JUAN, étudiante en 3ème année de thèse au CERCO, obtient le prix du poster pour son travail sur l’intégration visuo-auditive dans le cortex cingulaire postérieur (PCC) chez le macaque. Son poster a été présenté au 17ème Forum international sur la recherche en multisensorialité (IMRF) qui s’est déroulé à Suzhou en chine du 15 au 18 juin 2016.

Son travail permet de mettre en évidence une intégration neuronale visuo-auditive dans le PCC de singes éveillés. Le PCC pourrait être impliqué dans la navigation spatiale, peut-être en mettant en évidence des marqueurs spatiaux utilisés par l’animal lors de l’exploration de son environnement.


À noter

Semaine du Cerveau 2017

La semaine du Cerveau 2017 se déroulera du 13 au 18 mars. Programme.

Conférences et séminaires

Conférence CerCo
Gregor Thut
University of Glasgow
lundi 04 septembre 2017 11h
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
title tbd

Séminaire
James Riviere
Département de Psychologie - Psychologie et Neurosciences de la cognition et de l\'affectivité- Université de Rouen
jeudi 21 septembre 2017 14h00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
Attentional dynamics in complex natural environments:
Evidence from magic in toddlers

Conférence CerCo
Daniel Pressnitzer
Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs, Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris)
vendredi 22 septembre 2017 11h00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan

Conférence CerCo
Leila Reddy
CerCo
mardi 26 septembre 2017 14
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
HDR defense

Conférence CerCo
Chris Baker
NIH
mercredi 27 septembre 2017 11
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan

Conférence CerCo
Timothée Masquelier

lundi 02 octobre 2017 14:00
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
HDR - Spike-based computing and learning in brains, machines, and visual systems in particular

Conférence CerCo
Srdjan Ostojic
ENS Paris
vendredi 06 octobre 2017 11h
Salle de conférence (Pavillon Baudot), Hôpital Purpan
title tbd

InCOGnu

L’association InCOGnu organise régulièrement des soirées débats et ateliers autour des Sciences Cognitives. En savoir plus...